Network Structure

The network activities will be implemented and coordinated by a Steering Committee and a Scientific Committee.

Network Structure

The node structure is based on models of previous cross-territorial research networks.

Network Steering Committee - Members

  • Chair and Research Director:  Dr. Chris Southcott, Lakehead University
  • Yukon - Clint Sawicki, Northern Research Institute, Whitehorse, YT
  • Nunavut - Mary Ellen Thomas, Nunavut Research Institute, Nunavut Arctic College, Iqaluit, NU
  • Northwest Territories - Alana Mero, Aurora Research Institute, Aurora College, Inuvik, NT
  • Labrador - Labrador Institute of Memorial University - Dr. Ron Sparkes
  • Nunavik - Makivik Corporation - Charles Dorais
  • Arctic Cooperatives - Mary Nirlungayuk

Co-applicants coordinating each of the research themes

  • Dr. Brenda Parlee, University of Alberta
  • Dr. Frances Abele, Carleton University
  • Dr. David Natcher, University of Saskatchewan
  • Student Representative - Julia Christensen-Kereliuk, McGill University

Go To Top

Coordinating Offices

Northern Coordinating Office

SERNNoCa Coordinator 
Valoree Walker, Northern Research Institute, Yukon College, Whitehorse, YT email:  

Nunavut office 

Nunavut Coordinator 
Doug White, Nunavut Research Institute, Nunavut Arctic College, Iqaluit, NU  email: ;

Northwest Territories office

Northwest Territories Coordinator
Rajiv Rawat, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research, Yellowknife, NT  email:

Scientific Review Committee will involve the Research Director, Theme Coordinators and co-applicants. The scientific committee is responsible for reviewing, evaluating and directing the research efforts of the node and territorial coordinators.  Project proposals will be reviewed by this committee and recommendations for funding made to the Steering Committee with final decisions made by the Scientific Executive Committee.

Theme Coordinators

Theme 1 - Dr. Chris Southcott, Department of Sociology, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, ON 
Theme 2 - Dr. Brenda Parlee, Faculty of Native Studies & Faculty of Agriculture, Life & Environmental Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
Theme 3 - Dr. Frances Abele, School of Public Policy and Administration, Carleton University, Ottawa, ON
Theme 4 - Dr. David Natcher, Department of Agricultural Economics. University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK


Go To Top

Graduate Students

  • Carrie McLelland, Masters Student, Lakehead University (Dr. Margaret Johnston).  Thunder Bay, ON. Thesis project: "Contributions of volunteering in outdoor recreation to the social economy in Whitehorse".  Completed research project
  • Danielle McLean, Masters student, Lakehead University (Dr. Chris Southcott). Thunder Bay, ON. Thesis project: "Measuring Factors enabling Social Economy formation and factors that hinder their development"
  • Senada Delic, PhD candidate. Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele). Ottawa, ON
  • Tim O'Loan, Masters Student, Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele), Ottawa, ON
  • Damian Castro, PhD student, Memorial University of Newfoundland (Dr. David Natcher). "Support programs for harvesters"
  • Carolina Tytelman, PhD student, Memorial University of Newfoundland. (Dr. David Natcher).  "Inventory of co-management Boards across the country".
  • Zoe Todd, Masters Student, Rural Sociology, University of Alberta (Dr. Brenda Parlee). "Impact of Participation in the Wage Economy on Traditional Harvesting, Dietary Patterns and Social Networks in the Inuvialuit Settlement region" Completed research project
  • Nathan Bennett, Masters Student, Lakehead University (Dr. Harvey Lemelin) Thunder Bay, ON  "The Relationship of the Social Economy to Community Development and Park Creation: A Case Study in Lutsel K'e" Completed research project
  • Kim Hardy, Masters Student, Cape Breton University (Dr. Doug Lionais) Whitehorse, YT  "Co-operative Development in the Yukon"  Completed research project 
  • Tomiko Hoshizaki, Masters Student, Lakehead University (Dr. Chris Southcott) Thunder Bay, ON. "Social Economy and Gender in Canada's North". Completed research project 
  • Jean-Sebastien Boutet, Masters Student, Memorial University of Newfoundland, "Mining and the Social Economy in the Canadian North"
  • Jennifer Alsop, Masters Student, Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele), Ottawa, ON  "The Role of Co-operative Enterprise in the Social Economy of Repulse Bay, Nunavut" Completed research project
  • Jerry Sabin, Masters Student, Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele), Ottawa, ON.  "Evolution of the Social Economy in Yellowknife"
  • Sheena Kennedy, Masters Student, Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele), Ottawa, ON.  "Contemporary community social economy, baseline study in Igloolik" Completed research project
  • Nicholas Falvo, PhD student, Carleton University (Dr. Frances Abele), Ottawa, ON  "Housing and being Homeless in Yellowknife"
  • Sarah Gordon, PhD Student, Institute of Folklore, Indiana University  (Dr. Deborah Simmons)  "Language, Place and Governance in Deline, Northwest Territories: Monitoring Persistence and Change in the Social Economy".
  • Tobi Jeans, Masters Student, University of Saskatchewan (Dr. David Natcher), "Food Security and the Cross-Border Dimensions of the Vuntut Gwich'in Social Economy"
  • Angie Chui, Masters Student, University of Alberta (Dr. Brenda Parlee), "The Boom and Bust of Food Secuirty"

Go To Top


  • Dr. Greg M Poelzer, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. G. R. Ian MacPherson, University of Victoria
  • Dr. JoAnne Zamparo, Lakehead University
  • Dr. Lynn Echevarria, Yukon College
  • Dr. Margaret Johnston, Lakehead University
  • Dr. Nancy L. Gibson, University of Alberta
  • Dr. Robert J. L. Jickling, Lakehead University
  • Dr. Tim N. Topper, Yukon College
  • Monsieur Gerard Duhaime, Universite of Laval
  • Monsieur Jean-Marc Fontan, Universite du Quebec a Montreal
  • Monsieur Marc-Urbain Proulx, Universite du Quebec a Chicoutimi
  • Monsieur Raynald H. Lemelin, Lakehead University
  • Charles R. Stuart, Yukon College
  • Jack Hicks, Nunavut Arctic College
  • Norman Alexander Easton, Yukon College
  • Professor James A. McDonald, University of Northern British Columbia
  • Professor Lou Hammond Ketilson, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Thierry Rodon, Universite of Laval
  • Dr. Arn Keeling, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Dr. John Sandlos, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Dr. Doug Lionais, Cape Breton University
  • Dr. Brenda Parlee, University of Alberta
  • Dr. Robert Robson, Lakehead University
  • Dr. Deborah Simmons, University of Manitoba
  • Dr. Ellen Goddard, University of Alberta
  • Jody Butler Walker, Arctic Health Research Network-Yukon
  • Norma Kassi, Arctic Health Research Network - Yukon

Go To Top

Comment On This Page



SERNNOCA funding

Last update: Wednesday, January 25, 2012 at 8:30:07 AM
Copyright 2013 SERNNoCa

SERNNoCa Partners